Leadership and governance

Peel Building Blue Sky

Learn more about our Vice-Chancellor, Professor Helen Marshall, and the teams that lead and govern the University of Salford.


Professor Helen Marshall is our Vice-Chancellor. She leads the Vice-Chancellor’s Executive Team (VCET), who oversee the running of the University of Salford. VCET is made up of senior academic and professional service leaders, with the Deans of our Schools and other Directors attending to support the Vice-Chancellor in the effective delivery of our strategic objectives.


Vice-Chancellor's Executive Team

Vice-Chancellor's Executive Team Members (VCET)

Professor Helen Marshall

Chief Operating Officer
Huw Williams

Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Student Experience
Dr Sam Grogan

Pro-Vice-Chancellor Academic Development
Jo Purves

Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Research and Innovation
Professor Karl Dayson

Deputy Chief Executive and Director of Finance
Julie Charge

Associate Chief Operating Officer
John McCarthy

Director of HR and Organisational Development
Peter Gregory

Dean of the School of Arts, Media and Creative Technology
Professor Allan Walker

Dean of the School of Science, Engineering and Environment
Professor Joe Sweeney

Dean of the School of Health and Society
Professor Margaret Rowe

Dean of Salford Business School
Dr Janice Allen


We are governed by a Council and Senate. The Council is responsible for the strategic oversight of our activities. It determines our future direction and ensures we comply within its framework of governance. The Senate is our supreme academic body. Its primary duty is to oversee academic quality and standards, and ensure that academic activities, including mutually beneficial collaborations, flourish, develop and are enterprising in all aspects.

The Council and Senate

Council Members

Chair of Council
Lord Keith Bradley

Deputy Chair of Council
Sean O’Hara

Independent Members
Professor Dame Sue Bailey
Dr Tony Coombs
Phil Cusack
Garry Dowdle
Ben Gallop
Merlyn Lowther
Cllr John Merry
Ian Moston
Sam Plant
Alan Roff
Helen Taylor

Appointed Senate Member
Professor Mike Wood

Appointed Academic Member

Nominated Non-Academic Staff Member
Rik Sterken

Appointed Student Members
Festus Robert (USSU President)
Akeem Ojetola (USSU Business and Law Officer)

Vice-Chancellor and Ex-Officio Member
Professor Helen Marshall