Charitable Status Information

Looking  skyward alongside Peel Building

The University of Salford was granted the status of an exempt charity by a Statutory Instrument passed in May 1967.

As an exempt charity under the terms of the Charities Act, 2006 the University has due regard to the Charity Commission’s guidance on the reporting of public benefit, and particularly to its supplementary guidance on the advancement of education, in accordance with the requirements of the Higher Education Funding Council for England (HEFCE) as the principal regulator of English higher education institutions under the Charities Act 2006.

The University’s charity tax exemption number is XN7329.

Key information relating to the University's charitable status can be accessed below.


Legal Name and Correspondence Address

The University of Salford
The Crescent
M5 4WT

University Charter

Names of Trustees

Independent Members Appointment Date
Lord Keith Bradley (Chair) January 2018
Sean O'Hara (Deputy Chair) August 2014
Prof. Dame Sue Bailey August 2018
Dr. Tony Coombs January 2018
Phil Cusack September 2015
Garry Dowdle August 2014
Ben Gallop September 2015
Merlyn Lowther August 2018
Cllr. John Merry November 2017
Ian Moston September 2015
Sam Plant September 2015
Prof. Susan Price CBE September 2015
Alan Roff August 2019
Helen Taylor January 2018
Internal Members  
Prof. Helen Marshall January 2015
Rik Sterken September 2019
Prof. Mike Wood August 2019
Temi Adebayo April 2020
Adedapo Oluwalogbon Oni   April 2020

Further information about individual members is available on the Council Biographies page.

Queries regarding Council should be directed to its Secretary, Elaine Pateman Salt, Corporate Governance Manager, Quality and Enhancement Office, Room G06, Crescent House, email, telephone +44 (0)161 295 9005.

Audited Financial Statements

Charitable Interests of Council Members