Our 4-year PhD studentships provide an exciting platform for personalised research training pathways. Students start on October 1st each year (note: applications close in February each year, see below for date).

In the first year, students will undertake a training course which includes a series of taught modules and a short project. For the first six months all students will based at Salford after which they will move to their host institution to complete PhD programme of research. This will be either the University of Salford, Imperial College London, University of Strathclyde or the University of Southampton. Throughout the four-year programme cohort-based activities will ensure students work across the institutions.



Year 1

All students are initially based at the University of Salford and then move to their host institution in the middle year 1.  

Students can select from a series of taught modules which cover: medical device certification, fundamentals of prosthetics and orthotics, research methodology, biomechanics, gait analysis and physical behaviour monitoring technologies, health behaviour, professional issues relating to prosthetics and orthotics.

Further learning opportunities relate to responsible innovation; good clinical practice in research; equality, diversity and inclusion, change management and knowledge exchange.

Students also complete a short research project on a topic that will form the basis of their PhD work, developed and implemented in partnership with clinical and/or industry partners. Students will also agree a supervision team and clinical and/or industry and user partners required to support their PhD project.

There will be formal assessments in year 1 that are a prerequisite for continuing into years 2, 3 and 4.

Year 2, 3 & 4

Students will complete their PhD studies following the guidelines of their host institution (either the University of Salford, Imperial College London, University of Strathclyde or the University of Southampton). Upon satisfactory progress over the three years, students will receive their PhD award from their host institution.