The photo below, taken in 1913, shows Victoria Arch, viewed from inside Peel Park, looking outward towards the Crescent. The Arch was built in 1859 to commemorate Queen Victoria's visit in 1851 and again in 1857. It was demolished in 1937.

Victoria Arch entrance to Peel Park in 1910
Map highlighting checkpoint 8

What3Words location: glory /// corner /// twig

Discover the Salford of the past

Want to see more of Salford's history

There are hundreds of photos in the Digital Salford photo collection.