Winners revealed at 2024 Create Awards

Categories: School of Arts, Media and Creative Technology

We are delighted to confirm the winners from this year's breathtaking Create Awards at The Lowry on Thursday 6 June.

Now in its ninth year, the ceremony is the flagship end of year celebratory event for the School of Arts, Media and Creative Technology. The awards honour the incredible achievements of our students over the last year and this year's cohort is one of the most inspiring groups we've ever had.

Our finalists feature students who roller skated 300 miles to raise thousands for charity, set up an entirely sustainable fashion brand, provided peer-to-peer support for new mothers, created an award-winning theatre production company and organised a symposium around decolonising across disciplines in post-graduate research. 

The evening was once again hosted by stand-up comedian, performer, writer and Salford graduate Charlotte Cropper. 

You can read all of the finalists' stories that were featured at the ceremony. 

Outstanding Commitment Award, presented by Dr Steve Henderson, Festival Director at Manchester Animation Festival
Winner: Lucy Wiswould-Green, BA Dance
Finalists: Rachel Greer, MA Dance: Performance and Professional Practices
Yanxi Wu, PhD Art and Design

Sustainability Award, presented by Alex Smith, Sustainability Manager at SUEZ Recycling and Recovery
Winner: Stephanos Polyviou, MA Fashion Business and Marketing
Finalists: Nell Massin, BA Fashion Business and Promotion
Bronwen Wilson, PhD Arts and Media (Speciesism and BBC Radio 4)

International Student Award, presented by Darren Grice, Director of Culture at Salford Culture and Place Partnership
Winner: Femi Olayiwola, MA Public Relations and Digital Communications
Finalists: Heli Kapadiwala, MA Visual Communication
Zhiyi Zhou, MSc Games and Extended Reality

Community Engagement Award, presented by Sian Roberts, Festival Director at From the Other
Winner: Neenagh Campbell, BA English Language
Finalists: Rachel Holliday, MA Socially Engaged Art
Ella Horniman, BA Fashion Image Making and Styling

Student Engagement Award, presented by Sameed Rezayan, Head of Learning at Factory International
Winner: Jennifer Roberts, BA Creative Writing Multidiscipline
Finalists: Matthew Green, BA Television and Radio Production
Akelia Hewitt, BA Television and Radio Production

Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Award, presented by Fabian Bohan-Taghian, Series Producer and Development Executive at ITV and MultiStory Media
Winner: Keren Poliah, PhD Creative Writing
Finalists: Alice Ackerley, MA Visual Communication
Iqra Saied, BA Photography

Industry Engagement Award, presented by Gaynor Seville, Creative Director at The Whittaker Museum and Art Gallery
Winner: India Buxton, BA Fine Art
Finalists: Grecia Balassone, BA Fine Art
Megan Nuttall, BA Journalism: Multimedia

The Dean's Award for Academic Achievement, presented by Professor Allan Walker, Pro-Vice Chancellor and Dean of the School of Arts, Media and Creative Technology
Winner: Katie Barnes, PhD English Literature
Finalists: Matt McGettrick, BA Television and Radio Production 
Cami O'Hagan, BA Photography

Alumni Achievement Award, presented by Emmy Lahouel, a producer, director and dance theatre maker
Winner: Vicky Hawkesworth, BA Television and Radio Production Class of 2017

Photographs below are courtesy of Sam Michael Wood.I

For all press office enquiries please email communications@salford.ac.uk.