Create Student Awards winners revealed

Categories: School of Arts, Media and Creative Technology

A huge well done to all the winners from last night’s Create Student Awards. For the first time, the ceremony was broadcast live online, with guest host comedian and alumnus Jack Gleadow hosting, and an array of well-known presenters including Lucy Meacock, Clint Boon and Jackie Kay CBE.

Now in its fifth year, the Awards recognised and formally commended the incredible achievements and successes of the School of Arts and Media’s final year and postgraduate students across eight categories.

This year was especially exciting as we launched two new awards - the Enterprise & Industry Engagement Award, presented by Group Creative Director for Space Zero David Judge, which spotlighted those particularly excellent students who dedicate themselves to embracing the full range of opportunities offered at the University, and the Citizenship Award, presented by Scots Makar and University of Salford Chancellor Professor Jackie Kay CBE, which acknowledged students who have demonstrated an extraordinary passion for social causes and wider world issues.

It was great to see so many students, colleagues, alumni and industry partners tuning in to celebrate the success of our students, with thousands watching online and hundreds reacting, commenting and sharing on social media. 

In his closing remarks, Dean of the School of Arts and Media Professor Allan Walker said: “Across the nominees you will see the extraordinary achievements we have made this year, against all adversities, and our success is down to every single one of our students. Our students and staff are making a huge contribution to the culture and urban regeneration of Salford, and on the international stage through research and partnerships in Europe and China.

"Tonight really has been a superb showcase for our students and I want to thank everyone for joining us this evening to celebrate, albeit virtually, with our nominees, their friends and families, and colleagues from the creative industries. Thank you also to our many presenters, previous winners and judges for sharing their thoughts, to Jack for keeping us entertained as our host and lastly to our phenomenal students.”

You can find a full list of winners below, plus visit the Create Student Awards website to catch all the action from the evening if you weren’t able to attend. 

Art and Design Award

Presented by – Helen Wewiora: Director, Castlefield Gallery

Winner – Dingyi Xie, BA (Hons) Fashion Image Making and Styling

Film and Media Award

Presented by – Lucy Meacock: Journalist and Presenter at ITV Granada

Winner – PJ Hitchcock, BA (Hons) Television and Radio

Journalism, Politics and History Award

Presented by – Priya Matharu: Journalist and Radio Presenter  

Winner – Cari Morris, BA (Hons) Journalism: Broadcast

Music and Dance Award

Presented by – Clint Boon: Musician, DJ and Radio Presenter

Winner – Steve Harrington, MA Music

Performance, English and Creative Writing Award

Presented by – Claire Symonds: Senior Producer: Artist Development, The Lowry

Winner – Maisy Whipp, BA (Hons) Comedy Writing and Performance

Enterprise and Industry Engagement Award

Presented by – David Judge: Group Creative Director, Space Zero (and Create Student Awards 2020 judge)

Winner – James Knowles, BA (Hons) Film Production

Citizenship Award

Presented by – Professor Jackie Kay CBE: Chancellor of the University of Salford (and Create Student Awards 2020 judge)

Winner – Emma Barnes, PhD English Literature

The Dean’s Award

Presented by – Professor Allan Walker: Dean of the School of Arts and Media (and Create Student Awards 2020 judge)

Winner – Wenwen Wang, MA Dance: Performance and Professional Practice

For all press office enquiries please email communications@salford.ac.uk or phone 0161 295 2238.