Date published: June 16, 2016

High-profile industry figures recognise cutting-edge work of media students

The cutting-edge work of our media students was recognised at two awards ceremonies – the BAFTARs and the Journalism Awards – as part of Create Salford 2016.

The Journalism Awards took place at On the 7th, a glamorous private member’s club in the Landing MediaCityUK, on May 26, before the BAFTARS, a ceremony celebrating the work of our Television & Radio students, were held in the Digital Performance Lab at MediaCityUK on June 10.

Both events attracted high-profile industry guests, with many of them helping to form the judging panels, as well as giving keynote speeches offering advice to the budding media professionals.

The Journalism Awards featured former Coronation Street actress and comedian Jeni Williams, who played the role of host, BBC Radio 5Live’s Anna Foster and legendary former BBC North West broadcaster Gordon Burns, while the BAFTARs were attended by Terry Christian, a multi-award winning TV and radio presenter who hosted the awards, Ian Bent, Head of BBC Radio Production, North and BBC’s Susan Roberts.

Gordon Burns stated ‘the future is bright’ following his appearance on the judging panel at the Journalism Awards, which you can see pictures of here, while the judges at the BAFTARs were similarly impressed with the quality of the nominees and the winners on the night.

In total thirty three awards were given out across the two events. Check out all the winners below.

The ceremonies were held as part of the University’s two-month Create Salford Festival, which showcases the achievements of students from the School of Arts and Media and celebrates the University’s close links with the media industry, featuring art and photography exhibitions, poetry readings, music concerts, and a fashion show at Hotel Football.

Journalism Awards Winners

Steve Panter Award for Print Journalism – Kamuran Kulavuz

Best Online Journalism – Jasmine Rigby

Best Radio Journalism – Jennifer Henry

Best Television Journalism – Carlie Foster

Best Sports Journalism – Joseph Dexter

Photojournalist of the Year – Carlie Foster

Digital Innovation – Natalie Rees

Breaking News Awards – Rich Fay

Quays TV News Student of the Year – Maximilian Merrill

Quays News Online Student of the Year – Callum Matthews

Best 1st Year Journalist – Jennifer Smith

Best 2nd Year Journalist – Nathan Salt

Best 3rd Year Journalist – Teresa McMahon

Best Postgraduate Journalist – Gareth Evans

Student Choice Award – Ian Wood

Eddie Lowey Award Winner – Bradley Harris

BAFTARS Award Winners

TV Documentary Level 5 - Taylor Buckley

TV Documentary Level 6 - Michael Halligan, Gareth Hughes

Radio Documentary & Features Level 5 - Tabitha Konstantine

Radio Documentary & Features Level 6 - Megan Hughes / Director: Rebecca Scott

TV Drama Level 5 - George Holden

TV Drama Level 6 - Thomas Casserly  

Radio Drama Level 5 - George Stafford-Roberts, Beth Moore, Anna Desborough – Guardian

Radio Drama Level 6 - Siobhan Redmond

Best Editing Award - Lauren Johnstone

Radio Studio Level 5 - Tom Ainscough, Conor McKeown, Molly Singer, Rebecca Scott amd Chanelle Stratford

Practical Radio Production Level 6 -  Alishea Barkley, Alex Brazier, Thomas Edge, Rebecca Hill, Ben Jenkins, Paul Jones, Megan Stumm, Clare Shaw, Joe McGrath, Charlotte Ramplin and David Ridout

TV Studio Level 5 - Nathan Appleby - “Somebody Else’s Son”

TV Studio Level 6 - Grace Phillip

Best Theory essay Level 5- Sophia Chan

Best Theory Essay Level 6 - Clare Shaw

Quays TV Award - Mike Halligan

More News