Skip to main content

£4,000 cash prize for investigative journalists

Tuesday 29 January 2019

JOURNALISTS who uncover corruption and wrongdoing are being invited to enter a competition to win a £4,000 cash prize.

The Ray Fitzwalter Award, launched in honour of the distinguished former World In Action editor, aims to recognise the best work by early career investigative journalists outside London.

The award, sponsored by the University of Salford,Channel 4, ITV, and the David & Elaine Potter Foundation, is open to early career journalists working in any medium, based within the UK but outside the capital.

The competition is part of the University’s Nations And Regions Media Conference which was chaired by Ray, who also and served as a visiting professor at the University. 

Miscarriage of justice

The Bury-born journalist, who died in 2016 of cancer, helped end the career of home secretary Reginald Maudling after uncovering the politician’s links with corrupt businessman John Poulson.

He also covered the slaughter in East Pakistan that led to the birth of Bangladesh and later commissioned a series of documentaries on the Birmingham pub bombings, exposing one of the greatest miscarriages of justice in British history.

Andrew Fletcher, lecturer in Journalism at the University of Salford, said: “Investigative journalism is often overlooked, particularly outside the London bubble. We want to recognise the importance of letting the facts make the news at a time when fake news and misinformation have never been more prevalent.”

The award is open to early career journalists working on investigations in any medium, working and based within the UK but outside London. The winner will receive a £4,000 cash prize to be partly spent on a future investigation during 2019, alongside the opportunity to be mentored by a panel of distinguished investigative journalists.

Shortlisted candidates will be invited to attend this year’s Nations & Regions: Media Futures event at the University of Salford’s MediaCityUK campus on Wednesday 27th March 2019, where the winner will be announced. The award will be presented by ITV presenter Lucy Meacock.

How to Enter

Applicants must submit a piece of investigative journalism and a completed entry form – you can download theentry form here.

Please submit your entry via email to no later than 5pm on Monday 18th February 2019.

Find out more

Gareth Hollyman, Senior Press & PR Officer (Science)

0161 295 6895