University of Salford Manchester

The best of the North West construction industry sought for awards

Tuesday 15 January 2013
Last year's winners
Last year's winners
The University of Salford’s annual North West Regional Construction Awards are calling for submissions from the North West built environment sector looking to showcase their work to a regional and national audience.

The University’s Centre for Construction Innovation, which runs the awards, is looking for developers, clients, contractors, specialist contractors and sub-contractors, engineers , members of design teams and other consultants to submit their work in 11 categories – with the regional winners going on to a national awards scheme later in the year.

In 2012, the North West had two of their winning entries go on to succeed at The Constructing Excellence National Awards, with a further two highly commended, bringing the companies’ work to an industry-wide audience. One of the winners was Warrington-based Cruden Group Limited which won the regional and national Leadership and People Development awards.

Cruden Marketing Director David Dickie, said: "The calibre and range of entries that Cruden Group competed with to win this accolade is testament to our ability to innovate.

"Larger firms don't have a monopoly on good ideas and our resolve to offer a fulfilling career to our people through the 'ESCALATE' development programme demonstrates that regional contractors such as Cruden Group can be leaders in revitalising and prioritising skills development."

This year the University is looking for entries in the following categories:

  • Leadership and People Development Award
  • Integration and Collaborative Working Award – Value in Construction
  • Sustainability Award – Our Legacy
  • Business Innovation Award
  • Health and Safety Award
  • Heritage Award
  • Contractor of the Year Award
  • SME of the Year Award
  • Client of the Year Award
  • Young Achiever of the Year Award
  • Project of the Year Award

The shortlisted entries will be announced on Wednesday 20 March followed by the awards ceremony, which will be held in Manchester on 6 June.

All entries must be received by Thursday 21 February 2013.

For more information and details about how to apply, please go to

Follow the latest science and technology research, courses and other news from Salford at our dedicatedTwitter feed or on the College of Science and Technology Facebook page.