School of Humanities, Languages, & Social Sciences

The School offers a range of taught courses and engages in cutting-edge research across the disciplines of modern languages, translation and interpreting studies, and linguistics. The School prides itself on its multi-disciplinary approach to teaching, meaning that students benefit from the opportunity to tailor their learning to their interests and career aspirations.

Professional experience opportunities across the globe

All our students benefit from a unique blend of academic and professional work experience opportunities that are designed to produce highly employable graduates.

Links with institutions around the world mean that our students have been able to take part in international exchange programmes and work placements in countries including France, Germany, Spain, China, Egypt, Sweden, Finland, Cyprus, Canada, Australia and USA.
The School also has strong local ties and students across our subject areas have the opportunity to work with our partner organisations and make a real contribution to their chosen vocation before graduation.

Industry-leading facilities

Our curriculum is supported by state-of-the-art facilities, including our Language Resource Centre, conference interpreting suite and video and audio facilities.

Clearing 2014

Clearing hotline: 0161 295 5553

Date Opening times
Wednesday 6 August to Friday 8 August 09:00 - 17:00
Monday 11 August to Wednesday 13 August 09:00 - 17:00
Thursday 14 August 07:00 - 19:00
Friday 15 August 07:00 - 19:00
Saturday 16 August 09:00 - 17:00
Sunday 17 August 10:00 - 14:00
Monday 18 August to Friday 22 August 09:00 - 17:00