Skip to main content

Senior Leadership Team

Terms of Reference

Overview of governance accountabilities & responsibilities

1. Acting as a problem solving body, to provide solution-focused advice to VCET on university initiatives and key policies  

2. To serve as a channel for consultation on a range of matters prior to their determination by VCET or other decision making bodies

3. To contribute to the effective exchange of information on policy and performance, in particular for those activities where compliance is required with national legislation  

4. To ensure the effective communication and implementation of university plans within members’ areas of authority

Meetings are scheduled quarterly.

The Team

Professor David Spicer

Prof David Spicer (Chair)                

Dean of Salford Business School                

Prof Helen Marshall


Richard Stephenson

Prof Richard Stephenson

Deputy Vice-Chancellor                        

Dr Sam Grogan

PVC Students Experience                        

Jo Purves

Jo Purves

PVC for International and Regional Partnerships                        

Alison Blackburn

University Registrar                        

Lousie Edwards-Holland

Director of HR                        

Julie Charge

Director of Finance                                    

Prof Allan Walker

Dean of the School of Arts & Media                                    

Prof Hisham Elkadi

Dean of the School of the Built Environment                                    

Prof Sunil Vadera

Dean of the School of Computing, Science & Engineering                                    

Prof Sheila Pankhurst                                    

Dean of the School of Environment & Life Sciences                                    

Vicky Halliwell

Interim Dean of the School of Health Sciences                                    

Margaret Rowe

Margaret Rowe

Dean of the School of Health and Society                                    

Senior staff in attendance

Prof Neil Fowler

Prof Neil Fowler

Dean of Students                                    

John McCarthy

Director of Marketing & Student Relations                        

Jackie Njoroge

Director of Strategy                  

Professor Karl Dayson

Dean of Research          

Andrew Snowden

Andrew Snowden

Associate Director, External Relations