University of Salford Manchester

The University of Salford was granted the status of an exempt charity by a Statutory Instrument passed in May 1967.

As an exempt charity under the terms of the Charities Act,2006 the University has due regard to the Charity Commission’s guidance on the reporting of public benefit , and particularly to its supplementary guidance on the advancement of education, in accordance with the requirements of the Higher Education Funding Council for England (HEFCE) as the principal regulator of English higher education institutions under the Charities Act 2006.

Key information relating to the University's charitable status can be accessed through the links below:

The University of Salford
The Crescent
M5 4WT

  Date appointed Term of Office expires
Independent Members    
Dr Mike Burrows (Interim Chair of Council) April 2009 July 2018
Mr Geoff Bean September 2015 July 2018
Sean O'Hara (Deputy Chair) August 2014 July 2017
Mr Phil Cusack September 2015 July 2018
Mr Garry Dowdle August 2014 July 2017
Ms Jill Evans August 2014 July 2017
Ms Julia Fawcett
Mr Ben Gallop
Mr Ian Moston
July 2010
September 2015
September 2015
July 2019
July 2019
July 2018
Mr Sam Plant
Prof Susan Price
September 2015
September 2015
July 2019
July 2018
Ms Joyce Redfearn February 2014 July 2017
Mr Tom Russell October 2013 July 2019
Internal Members    
Prof Helen Marshall January 2015 Ex Officio
Ms Amina Helal October 2013 July 2019
Prof Sheila Pankhurst    
Prof Margaret Rowe    

Further information about individual members is available on the Council Biographies page.

Queries regarding Council should be directed to its Secretary, Andrew Hartley, Director of Legal, Planning & Governance, Room 625, Maxwell Building, email:, telephone: (0161 29) 56428